Chapter Ten: Him

Jay was only a few meters away when I noticed him. His usual smug smile was tugged down, the playful gleam gone from his eyes. He was wearing a uniform, black except the silver badge that flashed as he walked under a street light, and it dawned on me that Jay was a police officer. The fact that he hadn’t divulged this information fluttered briefly through my mind. It was promptly buried by dozens of questions, all more pressing in this moment, and I launched into them as soon as he was within earshot.

“Jay, what is going on? What did you mean it was about my parents?”

His hand found my arm, a steady but gentle pull leading me towards one of the benches that dotted Channelside, “We should sit down.”

I allowed him to lead me, stomach flipping, tongue tingling with the need to vomit, ears deafened by the rhythmic whooshing of blood until he took a seat. I followed suit, expectant.

“We have him.”

“Him.” I echoed.

Jay kept his gaze level but didn’t respond. He didn’t need to. I knew who he was. I just needed a minute to process the mixture of emotions that was sweeping over me: the heat of anger was soothed by relief as the buzz of joy was overshadowed by an intense desire for answers. Why had he committed such a heinous crime? Why were my parents, who were beloved by all, his targets? But most of all: Who was he?

“I want to see him.”

Jay nodded, “As soon as there is a court date I’ll let you know. You can attend the hearing and trial. You can give a victim impact statement at sentencing.”

“Where is he now?”

“He’s at the station. He was waiting to be interrogated when I left.” Jay said slowly as if he wasn’t sure he should be telling me at all.

He probably shouldn’t have. “Take me to him.”

“Will, I can’t do that -”


“Take. Me. To. Him.” I enunciated every syllable as I spoke, leaning towards Jay as if I could intimate him into what I was asking.

And maybe it was working. I could tell Jay was conflicted. He wanted to appease me, but he was also an officer. Even I knew that what I was asking of him bent the rules at the minimum. At worst, it was against the law, “Willow, even if I brought you to the station I can’t let you talk to him.”

“I just want to see the man who..” Three months and I still couldn’t bring myself to say it, “I promise I won’t do anything else, Jay. I don’t need to speak to him, just see him.”

Jay rubbed his face, “There’s a one-way mirror but -”

“Thank you!” The phrase fell out of my mouth on repeat as I wrapped Jay into a hug.

He returned the embrace but warned, “Don’t thank me yet.”  

19 thoughts on “Chapter Ten: Him

  1. Ohhh… I wonder if it’s someone she knows or if Jay is worried about what seeing ‘him’ will do to her. She thinks it will help her get closure but if it’s someone she knows maybe not.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh, deaaaar! Christop her saw it! I think the will think that she is cheating on him…And idid Jay only want to hug her? Hum…I hope Willow doesn’t lose when she seems the guy.

    I know she don’t let her emotions take over, but, it could get extreme..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He sure did. We will find out what he thinks… but not for a while.

      It could definitely get intense for Willow. A break down might be in her future, shes already a raw mess of emotion.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh hecc, I see Christopher looking down on them. WHO IS ‘HE’? To be honest, with a title like ‘Him’, I forgot that Willow had to meet with Jay and I thought it would be a cheesy chapter of marriage. but boy was I wrong. Great chapter 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He sure did see her! Who knows what he thinks is happening. 😛

      Hahaha, nope! The wedding won’t be happening for a while. ^_^ Though, it will be quick in the grand scheme of timelines for weddings because Christina is so excited for it.

      Like

    1. Haha, well, in the last imagine Christopher is actually in the background watching Will and Jay hug. 😛 It’s not in text because Willow has no idea he saw (and her mind is in other places right now, so he also sees her walk off with him without her telling him where she is going.)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

